Day 292 – Software Engineering: Learn from Code Review Comments instead of reacting.

Join this FREE Self-Writing Course.
Join this FREE Self-Writing Course.

I noticed that I don’t take code review comments very well, today I got some comments on my work, and man oh man, I went into reactions, blame and all that, instead of learning something from the reviews.

I mean most of the review comments are simply another way or more improved way of doing things, which I may have overlooked before, so there is room to learn, I don’t see why I should go into blaming and judging those who reviewed my work. This is an overreaction, and taking things personally. In a climate of job layoffs and economic hard times, the last thing I want to do is overreact to review comments at work, this is stupidity of the highest order on my part. So I direct myself to learn, understand, study, and investigate what others are saying, look at their review comments so to learn and enhance my software engineering skill-set instead of emotionally reacting, looking for the shortest path in life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to emotionally react when others provide review comments on my work.  

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to blame others inside my head when others provide review comments because what I expected from the review session is a quick cake walk pass without any issues, so to make my life easy.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed to blame others when they provide a long series of comments thinking and believing that they are picking on me and targeting me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to take review comments personally and thereby experience myself as being hurt instead of learning something from it.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to go into blame and judgment of others within the idea that they are giving me a hard time by not passing the code review so easily.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to believe that I am being personally targeted and attacked via the code review and that is why I am given so many correction requests.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed to fear learning, studying, investigating the code review comments within the idea that others are targeting me by giving loads of comments instead of passing the code easily.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to react in anger and feel like a victim and go into self-pity upon seen so many not-so-happy review comments on my work.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to form attacking, blaming views about the reviewers because I believe that they are targeting me, just to give me a hard time. HOW insanely stupid is this, in this I forgive myself for wearing the victim personality.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not realize, I should be instead be grateful for reviewers for taking their time and sharing their expert views on my code, in that giving me the chance to learn something new. I see/realize that I reacted on a mental/emotional level, so I direct myself to from now on to take review comments and study them, learn from them, and incorporate them to my work. I stop this stupid emotional habit which could potentially sabotage my job.

When and as I see myself reacting to any review comment people give me on my work, I stop, I breathe, seen/realizing that this is a gift for me to learn and enhance my software development skill set.

And I see/realize software bugs caught early on can assist everyone in the team, and the code can be a good example for others later on. Sometimes I see this particular code I am working on as ‘not that important’ hence no need for extensive review on it, this is an incorrect view, because every piece of creation is a reflection of myself, be it a temporary piece of code or not matters not, because what I create is a reflection of me here.

My code is my creation, it has my mark on it, so why leave it with half perfection, so why not incorporate all the review comments and make it ‘perfect’. The idea is to give my best at it, not just take the least resistance path, that is irresponsible. Let everything I do in everything Breath be an expression of perfection. Here perfection means doing things to my best of abilities, by taking full responsibility for it, NOT any form of comparison to others or their work. This is my best expression, in this breath by taking full responsibility to what I do, say or think.

Join us: www.desteni.org to learn how to deprogram and re-program yourself to birth self as life.     

Leave a Reply

