Day 490: Looking down on handicap people.

self-forgivenessI realize that I am sort of ‘looking down’ on handicap people. Today there was a wheelchair bound couple in the mall, and I saw how ‘strangely’ I looked at them or spoke etc; same thing happened another time with this deaf couple communicating in sign language and I had an odd look or rather look-down at them. This couple is simply unable to speak or hear that’s all, it would be terrible called them as ‘deaf and dumb’ or to look down upon them. I was stupid enough to ask the guy “can you write”, I mean wtf, what was I thinking, what was I trying to imply. And he went onto “say” he can do everything except hearing and speaking.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to look down on people who are deaf.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to look down on people who speak to each other in sign language.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to converse with them as if I am talking to some low-life comic alien, not considering them equal and one as life as me.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to treat deaf people as if they are comical figures whom I can treat like less-than or laugh at.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to look down upon people.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to look down on handicap people as if they are somehow less-than life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to see handicap people with a ‘low’ attitude instead of treating them as I would like to be treated.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to treat handicap people as if they are figures of comedy whom I treat as if they will put up with less-than treatments.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to mistake the humbleness sometimes I see in handicap people as a license treat them as comics as less-than, in that not considering them as equals as life.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to find it funny when deaf people having conversations in their sign language.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to treat deaf people, the folks who cannot hear or speak, as if they are low-life, or less-than, in that treating them as comics, not giving respect that I would show to normal folks.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to see deaf people as ‘deaf and dumb’ and never consider the less-than attitude that goes with the label ‘dumb’. I mean a physical impairment to speak or to hear doesn’t make them dumb; it is disrespectful and hurtful to treat them as such. Where is the equality of life in this?

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to carry the attitude that I can just dismiss and discard handicap people specially those ‘deaf and dumb’ ones.

I forgive myself that I have accepted and allowed myself to not see/realize nothing devalues the human because the human is LIFE, regardless of what shape, form, color, capacity or incapacity, capability or incapability one possess. Nothing reduces the human to a comic, to be treated as a source of comedy, as less than, unless you’re dealing with a professional clown, and then yes you can laugh at them.

When and as I see that I am becoming comical in my approach towards deaf people, I stop, I breathe, because I see my starting point is that they are not just deaf but ‘deaf and dumb’ which is not acceptable at all, therefore I stop and I breathe. I direct myself to see that deaf people are humans just like me, equal and one as life. I stop the comical attitude I have towards them, they are not a source of laughter or humor. I realize the subtle less-than attitude I carry towards deaf people.

When and as I see that I am looking down upon handicap people, I stop, I breathe.

When and as I see that I am talking to handicap people as if they are less-than or a source of comedy, I stop, I breathe. I realize that looking-down with humor is very sarcastic and condescending. I direct myself to treat all as I would like to be treated. I stop the joking attitude I have towards handicap people and I direct myself to see them as equal as life as me. Respect for Life is the key.

Join us.

desteni.org – Participate in Forums or Search the Vast Desteni Material

Living Income Guaranteed – An Economic Solution for a Failing Capitalism
DIP Lite – Free Online Course to get you started with learning the Tools of Self Support
DIP PRO -A Desteni Course for those Ready to Walk the Journey of a Lifetime
eqafe.com – Invest in a wide range of Interviews and Support yourself to Self Perfection
Equal Life Foundation – Facebook Stream for Unfolding Events and Solutions.
Creations Journey To Life 7 Year Process Blogs
Heavens Journey To Life 7 Year Process Blogs.

 

3 thoughts on “Day 490: Looking down on handicap people.”

  1. “Nothing reduces the human to a comic, to be treated as a source of comedy, as less than, unless you’re dealing with a professional clown, and then yes you can laugh at them.”

    haha- funny Anton. cool blog.

  2. At least, you realized what you have done to them and you felt depressing. I believe this kind of one lesson to gain your experience how to treat other people especially to handicap people later. Happiness in life can cause from what we act, what we think and what we speak. If you can smile from anything even smile from inside, happiness will turn to you.

Leave a Reply

